Thinking of running for General Council?

Nominations for the 2018/19 General Council are open from Tuesday July 3, 2018 at 1000 hrs until they close on Friday, July 13, 2018 at 1000 hrs.  Elections will follow, starting Tuesday July 17, 2018.

If you are elected to the PARO General Council you become a steward of the PARO brand and help challenge the status quo to push for excellence and affect change. All of PARO’s work is focused on the three pillars of our Strategic Plan: Optimal Training, Optimal Working Conditions and Optimal Transitions – into, through and out of residency.

PARO is a forward-thinking, solution-oriented outcome-focused organization. Our results are fuelled by a sense of purpose and commitment to a better future inspired by our love of medicine.

PARO has a long and proud history of making positive meaningful change in the daily lives of our members. We recognise that one of our biggest risks is the transient nature of residency and so:

We build on past success and continuously improve.

While many of our initiatives have long time frames
we are driven to make progress every year.

We believe that we are stronger and smarter together so we
develop and strengthen our teams by involving and leveraging the
skills of all team members (Staff, Board, GC, teams, partnerships).

We co-create ideas with a solutions oriented mindset and a
deep sense of accountability to represent all residents.

We model the leadership of owning our team commitments,
keeping our word, and putting PARO goals before our own.

We celebrate achievements, big and small, that propel us forward.

Represent Local Residents


As a PARO General Council Representative, you are an Ambassador of PARO and must make every effort to be visible and approachable. Your primary responsibility is to represent your fellow members, and you’re expected to bring their views and concerns to the General Council and the Board. You can do this at GC meetings as well as through other means of communication between meetings.

Contribute at General Council Meetings


You are expected to make every effort to attend and participate at all General Council meetings – both at the local site level and at the full meetings in Toronto. You should check agendas in advance for specific times and locations for each meeting. The first General Council meeting will take place in Toronto on Thursday, September 6th. Don’t forget to book time off from your rotation if you are elected. The General Council meeting schedule for 2018-19 can be found below.

Between meetings you are required to help complete the work that your local Team prioritizes for the year under the direction of your local Site Chair.

Please note: you’ll be reimbursed for expenses related to PARO business such as travel and accommodations. As outlined in the PARO-CAHO Collective Agreement, time used for PARO business is protected and programs are required to allow residents to attend meetings as long as patient care is not compromised.

Participate on PARO Strategy Implementation Teams


PARO operates on a team-based structure. As a General Council representative, you’re expected to participate on one or more teams of interest to you. Teams may include members of the Board as well as other General Council representatives. All PARO teams include one of our experienced professional staff who provide consultation and support.

Know the Contract


You’re expected to have a thorough understanding of the PARO-CAHO Collective Agreement. You’ll be provided with orientation sessions as well as ongoing support to successfully fulfill this responsibility.

Be a Resource to Members


As a General Council representative, you will act as a liaison between PARO and the members that you represent. You are expected to disseminate important information discussed at General Council meetings to local members. This may take the form of sending emails, holding local meetings, posting on bulletin boards, and other methods as required.

Organize and Attend Local Events


You are expected to participate with your team to organize and attend local PARO events and activities, as well as other events determined locally and by the GC and Board.

Be a PARO Representative on Liaison Committee Meetings


Many committees and groups require resident representation, and your Site Chair may call on you to attend one or more meetings at your site. Some examples include committees dealing with residency education issues or local hospital issues. You should check with the PARO office in advance of a meeting to ensure that you have all the materials and information that you need. After a meeting, you’re expected to provide the Site Chair a short written report on any relevant resident issues discussed.

2018/19 General Council Meeting Dates


Board & GC Full Meetings in Toronto
Thursday, September 6th, 2018
Friday, November 30th, 2018
Friday, March 15th, 2019
Friday, May 31st, 2019

Local GC Site Meetings

McMaster
Thursday August 23rd, 2018 @5pm
Thursday October 25, 2018 @ 3pm
Thursday November 22, 2018 @6pm
Thursday January 24, 2019 @ 3pm
Thursday February 28, 2019 @6pm
Monday April 8, 2019 @ 12pm – with PARO Board
Thursday May 23, 2019 @6pm

NOSM
Tuesday August 21, 2018 @5pm
Tuesday October 16, 2018 @ 3pm
Tuesday November 13, 2018 @6pm
Tuesday January 15, 2019 @ 3pm
Tuesday March 5, 2019 @6pm
Tuesday April 9, 2019 @3pm
Tuesday May 14, 2019 @6pm

Ottawa
Thursday August 30, 2018 @5pm
Tuesday October 16, 2018 @ 3pm
Tuesday November 14, 2018 @6pm
Tuesday January 15, 2019 @ 3pm
Tuesday March 5, 2019 @6pm
Tuesday April 16, 2019 @ 3pm
Tuesday May 14, 2019 @6pm

Queen’s
Wednesday August 22, 2018 @5pm
Wednesday October 16, 2018 @ 3pm
Wednesday November 14, 2018 @6pm
Monday January 14, 2019 @ 12pm – with PARO Board
Wednesday February 27, 2019 @6pm
Wednesday April 10, 2019 @ 3pm
Wednesday May 15, 2019 @6pm

Toronto
Monday August 20, 2018 @5pm
Monday October 29, 2018 @ 3pm
Monday November 26, 2018 @6pm
Monday January 21, 2019 @ 3pm
Monday March 4, 2019 @6pm
Monday April 15, 2019 @ 3pm
Monday May 20, 2019 @6pm

Western
Thursday August 30th, 2018 @5pm
Monday October 15, 2018 @ 12pm – with PARO Board
Thursday November 22, 2018 @6pm
Thursday January 24, 2019 @ 3pm
Thursday March 7, 2019 @6pm
Thursday April 18, 2019 @ 3pm
Thursday May 23, 2019 @6pm